Sidestepping toward style [preamble]

When one is a North American woman of average height who’s on the thinner side, bitching about clothing options is done at one’s own risk.

So let me throw down my shovel, hop in my casket, and shout: SOME OF MY BEST FRIENDS WEAR PLUS-SIZED AND WHEN IT COMES TO SHOPPING OPTIONS I KNOW THEY HAVE IT WORSE, OK?

My brain may be underused and cluttered with completely tawdry tidbits, but I get it. And I understand that some might consider it rude for me to complain about looking crappy in certain types of clothes when I can still find those clothes without much hassle.

But I’m going to complain anyway!

Because like most who have dragged themselves away from one way of life, I’m now committed to traveling a new path. I’ll say it loud and not-so-proud: my former Bea Arthur ways still hold a lot of appeal, requiring me be ever-vigilant about relapse. So I get a little twitchy when I can’t lay my paws on a flattering version of some totally average clothing item.

Like a day dress. Sometime during the ’08 presidential campaign, I became fixated on:

  • the sad dearth of dresses in my closet (1 10-year black dress; 1 sundress; 1 fancypants, near-floorlength dress)
  • a desire to leap BOLDLY away from my Garanimals-influenced wardrobe with a BOLDLY patterned (yet unobtrusive) dress

But despite seeing throngs of local women looking very chic/cute/fresh in THEIR dresses, I kept striking out. Fall: no. Winter: no. Spring. Dammit, no. For some bizarre reason, I could not seem to find a dress that met my yeah-really-not-THAT-high standards.

And after a few years of tentative forays into the market, caftans and tunics were now everywhere. D-A-N-G-E-R!

Bea (L) as Dorothy

Sing not your siren song: Bea (L) as Dorothy

Which is how I ended up commissioning a dress from a local clothing designer and vexing us both in the process.

Next: Part 1 of Sidestepping toward style, aka feel my pain

One Response

  1. Oh no, I can see it coming. You’re going to make me look really mean in the next post!

Leave a Reply

